A very frustrated runner

I have not blogged for a while for a number of reasons. The main one is that I wanted it to be a running blog and being unable to run has left me feeling really frustrated and quite frankly – demotivated.

After seeing the physio over a month ago I had some renewed optimism and hoped to be running in time for the school holidays. However, this was short lived and I have not seen the improvements I was hoping for which means I am going into the school holidays with a more rehab type mindset.

This week was the first week of the holidays and I toyed with the idea of going back to the physio. However, I decided that because I had not followed the advice as best I could, that I should have a good training week before reviewing the situation in the hope improvements will have been made.

Generally this week has been enjoyable as I have been able to go and exercise with no time pressure meaning I could spend time stretching and doing a bit more at the gym without feeling bad for it. I have also been able to get back into swimming which has been a nice change. If you had seen me swim a year ago I would have been that one splashing everyone else. Now though, I am much better but quite erratic meaning I still struggle to string some lengths together. More time in the pool will hopefully correct this.

I have been using the watt bike at the gym which has been quite interesting. Not being out running means I have nothing to measure myself against except for this. As you cycle it gives you a reading of your wattage and how you use the pedals (more pushing then pulling in my case). I also got talked into doing a 3 minute aerobic test on them which was a great way to tell me I am now officially unfit.

On Monday, I did a swim, cycle and then my exercises before getting on the treadmill. I managed to do 10 minutes pain free at 8 minute km pace. This was a big result for me and the furthest I have run pain free for a while. This joy was short lived when I tried doing the same the next day only to find that my knee twinged again.

I am still bemused by exactly what it is. I am sure it is something to do with my IT band, which in turn is something to do with my hips, which may also be a result of tight calves and hamstrings but I don’t know what I should be doing and this is driving me mad!

I am off on holiday next week camping in Cornwall and I will be making sure I do my exercise routine daily along with stretching and hopefully some foam rolling, but I am sad I cannot go on any runs. Hopefully we can squeeze the bikes in the car and do plenty of that! When I return I think I will be making another visit to the physio to try and get to the bottom of this!

Has anyone else been in a situation like this with a really frustrating injury? Any advice on how to cope with the frustrations and how you got through it?

Leave a Reply

