Plans for 2017

Not been on here for a while as I have been reflecting on what I want to achieve and why I want to run.

Over Christmas 2016, I decided I would start getting back into the habit of running regularly and tried to piece together a little run streak of gentle runs. It felt good to be out running and getting some time on my feet. Over this time it gave me a chance to think about what I wanted to do this year with my running. I also started to make greater use of Instagram and have been using that to record my runs daily as a way to keep myself focused and accountable. Having previously read a book on 8020 running I have decided that I will be following this plan over the next 4 and a half months.The main reason for choosing this plan is the hope that it will allow me to stay stronger towards the end of race.

My targets for the year is to go through a whole training plan without picking up a serious injury that stops my running. If I can do this, then I hope to be able to beat my PB.

Not being confident in my ability to do a whole plan without an injury I will be trying to do 2 marathons this year. To set myself up for this I will see how I go with the build up to my first marathon and then peak again for a second race. Alongside this, I am hoping to go into a number of other races or events without the pressure of running.

I have booked on for Weymouth Half Marathon in March to set me up for the Southampton Marathon on the same day as London Marathon. Hopefully putting in plenty of long, slow miles, I will be ready!

Leave a Reply

