Consistent training

As I build up to Weymouth Half Marathon, I have been reflecting on how my training is actually going. If you have come over from my Instagram you will have a fairly good idea about that. 

Generally my training has been good but with the expected ups and downs. There have been some runs where it has been really tough and my pacing has felt well off where I want to be. But these are often quickly followed by runs with something that I can pick out as a positive. This could be getting through my intervals feeling okay, getting a good pace in a tempo or just feeling like I did exactly what I set out to. 

As I look back at last years training, the thing that is really different this year is that I am being much more consistent with my training. This means I have not been sidelined by any injury and I have also carried out nearly every single run that was on my plan – bar a few. I have been following the 80/20 method and this has meant I have been running more often but at a slower pace which has allowed me to keep ticking over. Therefore, during the week I do 2 sessions which have been a fast finish run, an interval or hill run and then on the weekend I do a long run. The other days are often slow recovery runs or a short steady run. 

By balancing these runs it has allowed me to get out the door. I often find it really hard to come home from work and go out for a run but trying to stick to my plan and knowing that these runs are achievable makes it easier. I also have to make sure I don’t sit down for too long. 

Going forwards with any training in the future I will make sure that consistency is key to my approach. This will involve running regularly and with a steady progression so that I can get out the door and hopefully avoid injuries. 

One thing I really need to think about adding into my training is all the other side of training such as core and strengthening. This is something I need to do better. 

How is everyone else approaching their training? 

How do you balance running with strength training?

Leave a Reply

