Autumn marathon – week 9

This week was meant to be a dip in session as the third week in the mini cycles, allowing me to have a slight break before the subsequent two weeks step up. However, I feel that I need to get more mileage under my belt so that I can stay strong in the second half of the marathon. With this in mind, I ended up doing more mileage than perhaps I should have but I still focused on the intensity of these runs. 

Due to my flexibility with the plan in week 8, my long run was going to kick off my week. I got 16.5 miles under the belt at a steady tempo. I tried to explore a little bit more on this run and entered a few footpath trails and even had to turn back on some due to how overgrown they were. I miss running on trails every now and then because it always distracts the mind allowing me to enjoy my running. After this marathon I am really going to focus on finding some trails to explore for my training runs. 

I decided to get myself a massage this week too as I haven’t been for quite a while. I decided at the start of this sequence to try and get myself regular massages just to help the body recover. This week was the first time I went with no real problems to target. My knee has had a slight niggle which links to my hips but I had a general leg massage which always feels good after. 


I ended the week with another long run today and although my plan said 11, I wanted a little more so pushed to just past 13. I also wanted to check my marathon pace so put that into action for the last 3 miles and I have mixed feelings about how it went. I managed to keep it fairly consistent but the pace was still a little tough so more to do in the coming weeks. 

Things I will take away from this week:

Massages are helpful at being proactive with regards to injuries. 

I really enjoy exploring trails and finding new routes but I’m not quite ready to invest in trail shoes. 

I need to keep working on my hips flexibility and strength and avoid putting it off. 

My upper body strength is still not good enough so I think I might start a press up challenge. 

I can finish at a pace after a long run. 

My feet are wide and it makes it tricky to get new shoes. 

Leave a Reply

